We wish to extend a special note of thanks to all the members of the Cedar Falls Audubon Soceity who helped to make our 25th Anniversary a memorable occasion.

# THE GEDAR FALLS AUDUBON



SOCIETY

Here comes a man and little boy With a yellow vest and hat. That kid with his slingshot Is a yellow-vested brat.

The fellow with the carrot top Was sent to gather wood. He picks up only dry twigs Like a red-haired woodpicker should.

There's the gal who shouts and yells Her voice gives one a pain. No wonder they all call her That awful whooping Jane.

There is much I've yet to say If I could only write. Since I can't, I'll warn you now Look out! You're in my sight.

## HONORED GUESTS

#### SPECIAL FRIENDS

#### State College of Iowa

Dr. Roy Abbott Prof. & Mrs. John Bliese Dr. E. J. Cable Dr. & Mrs. Martin L. Grant Dr. & Mrs. C. W. Lantz Dr. & Mrs. George Worley

Cedar Falls Woman's Club

Mrs. Helen Gaffney, President Mrs. Leonard Pfeifer, Home and Garden Department

Waterloo Audubon Society

Miss Margaret Nagel, President

Iowa Ornithologists' Union Dr. Merle Burk, Secretary- Treasurer

BIRD WATCHERS (From Bird's Point of View) by Madeline Carpenter

There are lots of people Who like to look at us. They carry their field glasses And make a great big fuss.

There are those who chatter And make a lot of noise, The big ones always blame it On the little girls and boys.

There is a little trick of mine Birders do not admire. Anyway, here's what it is Though you did not inquire.

I perch high upon a branch In very nice plain view, But when they all come running, They say, "Oh darn, he flew!"

#### CHARTER MEMBERS

Miss Verna Davis
Mrs. Lola Deal
Mrs. J. W. Knickerbocker elded
Mrs. Russell Rugg starl V .0 .erM & .nd
Mrs. Charles Schwanke
Mrs. Warren Tay biseri yenliab neleH .ank
Mrs. C. H. Thompson
Mrs. Eugene Smith
Mrs. Anna Stevens

## HISTORY OF CEDAR FALLS AUDUBON SOCIETY Mrs. Warren Tay

In May, 1937, the Garden Department of the Cedar Falls Woman's <sup>C</sup>lub were meeting at the Woman's Club House. A Ruby-crowned Kinglet flew in a vine by the window. Mrs. Ray Dix identified it and all rushed to see it. From that Ruby-crowned Kinglet, an Audubon Society was formed. Ten ladies signed as charter members. A constitution was drawn up and Mrs. Dix was our first president.

More joined in a short time, and a very enthusiastic group were meeting twice a month at the Woman's Club House. Many short hikes were taken. The lists of birds seen were not long, but we were learning.

We had wonderful help from the Iowa State Teachers College as we grew. Miss Winifred Gilbert, Dr. Martin L. Grant, Dr. Roy Abbott and Dr. C. W. Lantz were always ready to lend a hand in our work. As soon as they get tired They always have to eat. And goody for the crumbs That drop around their feet.

Leafing through their bird guides As these folks always do, If these birders only knew There are people watchers too.

Take that little fellow In the yellow romper suit; He's a yellow wobbler, But I'll admit he's cute.

Guys who gawk at pretty girls Then trip and fall down flat, They're the red-faced boobies Their wives will see to that.

#### SILVER ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION

Municipal Utilities Building Cedar Falls, Iowa

#### PROGRAM

6:30 Potluck

8:00 Introduction of Special Guests

"Those Wonderful Years"

Tribute to Charter Members

Contests were conducted through the schools to get the children interested. Essays on bird protection were written. Feed shelves and bird houses were built by the children. Trees and shrubs were planted for food and shelter.

In the year 1946, in cooperation with the Waterloo Society, we sponsored the Audubon Screen Tour Series. Later we sponsored them alone - 15 years in all.

Almost from the beginning we have participated in the annual Christmas count of the National Audubon Society, under the leadership of Dr. Grant.

Now our membership has reached about 75 men and women. The field trips cover a larger area, the enthusiasm is wonderful, but not one bit more than the little group that met in May, 1937.

Onst Presidents

### PAST PRESIDENTS

Mrs. Ray Dix	1937-38
Mrs. Russell Rugg	1939
Mrs. Lola Deal	1940-41
Mrs. C. F. Chapin	1942
Mrs. A. R. Baxter	1943-44
Miss Margaret Dorweiler	1945
Mrs. Oren F. Paine	1946-47
	1948-49
Mrs. C. H. Thompson	1950
Miss Myrtle Gaffin	1951
Mr. George Cleveland	
Miss Verna Davis	
Mr. Oren F. Paine	1953
Mr. Wm. F. Eichmann	1954-55
Mrs. Paul Mahon	1956
Mrs. John O'Connell	1957-58
Miss Irene Hilton	1959-60